Low res again, sorry! I don’t want to spoil my chances of selling these ones on NZ Photo Sales!

I love Kowhai flowers. Kohwai means yellow in Maori although Kowhai flower sounds a lot better than Yellow flower! Kowhai’s are native to NZ which in my mind makes them instantly loveable, double that with the fact that they are the favorite of a native NZ bird, the Tui, and triple it with the fact that I have a daughter named Tui and well…..you get the idea. I love Kowhai flowers and Kowhai trees. This is the time of year (Spring here atlast!!) when I get to indulge in a big way. Just check out this branch (Below) that is so blessed with flowers itm looks as though it could snap at any moment….

These trees are even at my beloved pond! How spoilt can a girl get?

Speaking of the pond. DH was there the other day with Master 8 and he came back and told me to grab my camera and head down. He said there were DUCKLINGS!!!!! at the pond and they were STUCK in the storm water drain:(  I had just been there the day before looking for sign of any ducklings but there weren’t any. So…anyway I grabbed my camera and some bread and raced down. I couldn’t take a half way decent pic though:( down a drain and all! Long and cold story cut short I ended up calling the council and asking them to rescue them. I put on my gumboots and waded in a little so I could feed the ducklings (there were 7) and I waited for the rescue team to arrive. Unfortunately I missed the actual rescue as the contractors didn’t come till after dark and I had to go home but the council assures me that the men tied a gumboot to a broom handle and scooped the poor babies out! lol. What a photo that would have been!!

 I bet mother duck was pleased to get her babies back safely  (and I mean the real mother duck!) I already gave my family a giggle when I referred to them as “my” ducklings!

