At the back of Yatton Park in Tauranga there’s a huge reserve with many large and historically significant trees. It was while out photographing the trees (and hoping to miss that rain you can see!) that I came across this scene. Instantly I was drawn to the colours! Rusty, earthy browns and grey provided a soft relief from the many shades of green where I was standing. Not that there’s anything wrong with green:)

I don’t know the name of the estuary that winds through all the tussock grass but I recently found a 2nd walking track that will lead me through it from a fork in the track at the Fraser Street Reserve (where the photos below were taken) back to Yatton park. One fine day I will make a point of going back to photograph this area specifically. I may even be lucky enough to capture some of the bird life that thrives here!

