I got the most wonderful surprise when I went to the pond last night! I was busy photographing the masses of wild daisies grouped around the waters edge (I don’t remember them being there last year) when my son alerted me to this mother duck and her 7 babies! I’m sure these are late ducklings, it’s very nearly December and I haven’t heared of Christmas Ducks before…however I was/am just so thrilled to see them. The last lot of ducklings disappeared even after their rescue from the drain.

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2008

Father duck came over too.

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2008

The debris that appears to be on the surface is actually a plant growing below the water. The bread we threw out seemed to gather here and while I was watching a piece of it disappeared before my eyes….I looked for a while and soon saw an eel sneakily rise up to the surface and help itself to the bread. I’m glad it left the ducklings alone!

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2008

The lily pads provide good camoflage for the ducks and ducklings. There’s atleast 2 ducks in this photo. The other side of the pond is where the Pukeko’s live and they too have chicks there now. You can see a black bundle of fluff if you enlarge the photo by clicking on it. (Its midway down on the right hand side of the photo and nearly out of the shot…but it’s there!)

There are definitely Dragonfly’s there now too…big fat ones (and no they’re not damsels!) so I will be going back tomorrow when the kids are at school!

