Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

I heard today that Tauranga Intermediate is the largest Intermediate in the Southern Hemisphere. I don’t know for sure if that’s true but I do know that it boasts a lot of large trees and birds.  It really adds to the atmosphere of the school and they’re a natural asset.  I am betting the school will be a great place to wander, camera in hand during Autumn.  I can’t wait!  Coincidentally ( I think!) the schools roll of 1200  is divided into houses, each house is made up of 4 classes of approx 25-30 kids in each…and each house is named after a native tree.  Rimu, Kahikatea, Totara, Manuka are a few that come to mind.  Each house wears a coloured t.shirt  associated with that tree, Manuka’s house colour for example is Pink. (Yes, even for the boys….lol )

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

