Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

A neighbourhood easter egg hunt was a big success, and the weather was obliging! Not only that…I found a second pond near my house! Ok , I didn’t ‘find’ it more I was led too it. A second pond (would you believe?!)  and I never even knew it was there!

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

Above: ‘My’ pond. Below: The second pond.

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

This pond is less maintained than the other and there are quite a few physical differences, the lack of an bird island in the middle for one thing and also the absence of lily pads. It does have a lot more trees around the edge though and I hope that means bird nests! I’m also hoping that this area is the home of the hawk I have seen circling previously. It was told by the banded dotterals at the other pond to clear off (which suprised me!)  but I still see it occasionaly so know it must live nearby.   It’s also less visited by locals and dosn’t have the planned walking loop around it. When we went I soon realised I was in need of gumboots and not sneakers as the area was quite muddy. I can’t wait to go back  and explore the area as soon as we get home from our easter break! * See you then!*

