Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

The day started off with a great sunrise (below) but pic of the day has to be the Monarch that I photographed in the garden. I hope this wee butterfly survives! It must have only just hatched because I found it just down from the remains of it’s chrysalis. Sadly it was tangled in a spiderweb, it’s antentae, legs and wings trapped in the tiny threads. I don’t think a spider was trying to trap it, I think the young butterfly tangled itself. I removed it from the web and was rewarded with a few tiny flaps of its wings but I suspect that this butterfly didn’t make it to a food source soon enough…it was very weak and I have no idea how to feed a butterfly! If your a butterfly fan like me please keep your fingers and toes crossed for this one!

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

