Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

Copyright Lisa Sarsfield 2009

Kaiate falls consists of around 3 small waterfalls that drop onto “steps” which feed into a bigger waterfall (more on that tomorrow.) The area is quite ‘cave like’ in that the cliffs are so steep and thickly covered with foliage that you almost feel like your in a hole. It’s a nice hole though! The waterfall is about the only thing you can hear and the air feels so clean and fresh. Plants have a unique ability to grow on seemingly inhospitable wet rocks and the area almost feels like it is untouched by man. There’s something very pure and invigorating about it. I certainly feel privileged to have it so close to where I live although next time I go I will be sure to wear something other than my leather riding gear! You may have noticed that my husband  (top photo) was kind enough to carry both our helmets so I could have free hands to photograph with!

